Ambitions?

Now that my eldest brother had entered University, taking Accountancy, I keep thinking on what I course I would take. I would be going too next year but I still have time to make my decisions. 

My family and teachers have asked me the same thing over and over again. What do you want to be when you grow up? My answer, which I keep repeating the same one for years is I don’t know. I haven’t made up my mind yet because I have so many interests right now and my knowledge on careers, jobs and life after school is pretty shallow. I’m not exactly sure on what I want to pursue in life. 

Some of the things that I am interested in are writing. I have been writing since I was 9. I always have a passion for writing words that can trigger one’s imagination with the world I created. Or just simply read about a story I created that can somehow inspire others. I picked up reading when I was 14 and that encouraged me to write my own material. I was so amazed at how authors used beautiful words and would describe everything in detail. I think authors like Jo Rowling, Stephen King and J.R.R Tolkien are geniuses! They managed to create their own worlds and can easily attract others into exploring their worlds. Its amazing how the human mind works.

I also am very into music. I’ve listened to many types of genres for the past 17 years of my life. I enjoy listening to songs that motivate me in life and also songs that can lift up my spirits after a bad day. I tend to memorize many songs at one time. I even wrote some music on my own. Mostly lyrics cause I can’t play any musical instruments. The one habit that I can’t get rid of is whenever I hear a song that I like, I automatically sing it or dance to it. I can’t help it . Its as if my mind and body is functioned to react to music immediately. And  don;t just sing or dance for a while but for the whole damn song. I just can’t control myself when it comes to music. I even wrote some when I was 12 but those were the days when most songs were emotional and expressive. Maybe its because I have been exposed to music at a really young age. I would love to write songs that inspire others.

I also am into movies. I have watched tons of movies since I was a kid and the TV was actually the main medium for me to learn English. English isn’t my native language, many people say that you can improve your English by reading books and newspapers. I picked up reading pretty late so I learned English through the TV. Whenever I watch a movie, I would listen and look how actors and actresses pronounce words and remember the words they used. I even mimicked their accents when I try to speak. I was a kid, what would I know? The silliest thing I remember saying when I was a kid was I wanted to be an actress. How embarrassing is that?  Looking back how young and immature I was, my childish mind could come up with something like that. I think its because I enjoy watching movies too much I actualy wanted to be in them. I always thought how it would be like to be in the entertainment industry. Might be interesting.

Another thing that I am interested in would be humans. Sounds weird but I like learning how the human minds work. I have said that I am observant and I like to read expressions of peoples faces and actions. I enjoy learning about body language and ways people talk. Its slightly like CSI. I am not the type of person that sit and do nothing. I would want to work out on the field. I enjoy the outdoors. I also like top secret and secret-ish things. For example, discovering something that no one ever knew but I can’t tell other people because I might get caught by higher authorities. Man that sounds cool! Just like in the Da Vinci Code and National Treasure, you know? I would love to work like that. Knowing that if you spill those secrets, your life would be in danger. Hah that would be awesome!

I have been planning to meet with the counselors at school on choosing my career. I did a survey once and I got musician and news anchor. How cool is that? But, it doesn’t hurt to try. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Ambitions?

  1. Sounds like you could be the next Ron Burgundy (Anchorman)! Making a decision on what you want to do is really hard, but never fear as some statistic I read once said that the average person changes careers every 7 years. You could do everything you are interested in 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

