It Gets Shorter and Shorter

This has been bothering me for quite some time. I don’t enjoy the things I usually love to do. I’m talking about my attention span. For some reason as the years passed, my attention span has been decreasing drastically to a point where I can’t even finish a page of a book. I loved reading books. This worrying discovery has gotten worse when the thing I love to do the most which is watching anime is affected too. I GET DISINTERESTED HALFWAY AND THIS IS SUCH A DISAPPOINTMENT TO ME. I haven’t even read a single (fictional) book last  year because I got bored with reading just a few pages. 

It’s impossible to say that I don’t like doing those things anymore because I love reading *fiction* and watching anime. I have stumbled upon articles that said researchers have found out that humans have shorter attention spans than goldfishes. But, I only read the title of it rather than reading the whole thing knowing that I won’t finish even half of it. I don’t have a problem with studying though since whenever I start studying, I will do whatever I can to finish it.

I wonder if this has anything to do with concentration as interest is not included. Does this mean I’m going to have a hard time to get things done? Is motivation one of the reasons too? I miss the feeling of finishing a good book. The satisfaction that comes with it as if you have completed an adventure with the characters of the book. Can we get back our ability to pay attention? Or is it even an ability? Damn it. 

3 thoughts on “It Gets Shorter and Shorter

  1. You are looking at things from a close perspective, stop, and widen your horizons. Try to back up a bit and look at the bigger picture. Is it really you at fault?
    What if its because the books you trying to read, or the anime you are trying to watch, are just plain boring. And I’m saying this because you don’t have to like everything that’s mainstream. It may turn out that the books and anime aren’t just up to the par they used to be.
    Basically, what I’m saying is that you might be giving the world a little too much credit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

