My Top 5 All Time Favourite Seiyuu/Anime Voice Actors

When watching anime, one must always stop and listen to the character’s voice and figure out whether they know the owner of the said voice before googling them. Anime will not be sufficient without the voice actors or as they call it “seiyuu”(声優).  I have watched anime ever since I was in primary school and even though I am reaching adulthood, anime will always have a special place in my heart. I have fangirled for years and have no plans to stop. These top 5 seiyuus are all male (I prefer shounen over shoujo) and whenever they are casted in an anime, I will always  recognise their voices immediately. They will be ranked from 5 to 1 which actually has no meaning since I love them all equally and have so much admiration for them. Imagine adoring someone just through their voice? Hah! Let’s start with : 

5. 宮野真守 (Miyano Mamoru)

23633-mamorumiyano-usr5.png

If you’re an avid anime fan, just by hearing his voice or seeing his name, you already know this charming guy. His seiyuu friends and fans call him Mamo and his well-known roles include Yagami Light (Death Note), Fushimi Saruhiko (K series), Tsukiyama Shuu (Tokyo Ghoul series), Ichinose Tokiya (Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love series) and one of my favourites are Dazai Osamu (Bungou Stray Dogs) and Matsuoka Rin (Free! series). Mamo can embody any character given to him with ease from a clumsy, cheerful guy to a disturbed and quiet character. He not only can act out multiple impressions but can also sing. He has this presence that whenever he’s on stage for an event or a concert, he shines and everyone acknowledges his presence. He is definitely a man of many talents. He is such a delightful and funny person in real life too. What I would do to meet him.

 

4. 鈴木達央 (Suzuki Tatsuhisa)

cdrkdwjwiaajxiu

Don’t let me start with this guy. (He is the man of my dreams) I first known him from the Kuroko no Basket series as Takao Kazunari (one of my favourites). His laughter is so contagious whenever Takao laughs I love it so much. The thing about Tatsu is his voice is originally so soothing to me. You know, like, comforting. A character he played named Tachibana Makoto (Free! series) is so cute and got every fangirl in the world kyaa-ing. He plays a character who is kind and considerate but is also adorably a scaredy cat and a worrywart ugh I can’t handle . And I loved his role as Tsubaki in Servamp. His sinister laugh and the coolness of his voice is just amazing. Watch Servamp and you’ll know what I mean. His roles in animes are Yoshida Haru (Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun), Kurosaki Ranmaru (Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love series), Mukami Yuuma (Diabolik Lovers) to name a few. He is also the frontman of the band オルドコデックス (OLDCODEX) and has provided OPs and EDs (soundtracks) for some animes including the Free! series, God Eater, Kuroko no Basket series, Servamp and much more. He’s also charming in real life and I love it when he’s close to his seiyuu friends and calls them by their given names it’s so cute.

 

3. 内山昂輝 (Uchiyama Kouki)

tumblr_oie6vi5iic1umkiozo4_1280

(credits to the owner of the photo)

Despite rarely smiling in photos, he’s a really funny guy in person. Just by watching seiyuu events with him joking around with his fellow seiyuu friends and probably the only one with the sense of humility (in Haikyuu Matsuri event he refused to dance on stage when everyone else did haha but when he did the “yay!” cheer he got so embarrassed he immediately sat down during the introduction part hahaha) . Also during Haikyuu!! Winter Training Camp event where fellow seiyuu co-star or the mother of the group, Irino Miyu told him to act like an adult haha I love the childish yet shy side of him. His role as Asaba Yuuta in Kimi to Boku series attracted me to him as he had this cool demeanor about him. Probably most of the character he plays is snarky, quick-witted and cool like Tsukishima Kei in Haikyuu!! (mine, all mine) and Yuri Plisetsky in YURI!! On ICE. I can listen to his voice all day and still love him more. Some of his roles include Naoe Tsuyoshi (Nijiiro Days), Ichijou Raku (Nisekoi), Evans (Soul Eater), Shigaraki Tomura (Boku no Hero Academia) and Harada Takumi (Battery). 

 

2. 諏訪部順一 (Suwabe Junichi)

20160816182416

Let me tell you about this man. He has one of the SEXIEST voices in anime history and I know a lot of anime fans would agree because his voice has no age limit. He voiced a 27 year old russian figure skater named Victor Nikiforov (YURI!! On ICE) who is seductive yet playful (whenever he smiles, his mouth is shaped like a heart dear lord save me) and also a 16 year old airhead and self-loving basketball player named Aomine Daiki (Kuroko no Basket  series) and oh my goodness I love how much of a delinquent yet badass he sounds. He has been in so many animes because really, who can refuse such a heavenly voice?  Not only that, he also sings. My god. What a combo! Some of his works include Jae-ha (Akatsuki no Yona), Archer (Fate/stay night), Undertaker(Kuroshitsuji series),  Atobe Keigo (Prince of Tennis series), Ootori Itsuki (Starmyu) (I love him) and Jinguuji Ren (Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love). We should be thankful for his existence because without him, anime wouldn’t be enjoyable (to me). 

 

1. 細谷佳正 (Hosoya Yoshimasa)

tumblr_ocee0sal4w1umkiozo3_500

Hosoya-san’s voice is just mesmerising. It’s deep but is reassuring. He can be the goofball ace of the volleyball team like Azumane Asahi in Haikyuu!! and even the cool as hell yet  intimidating backstroke swimmer named Yamazaki Sousuke (Free! series). If you watch the seiyuu events he was in, you’d love his personality. He’s shy yet outspoken, funny but doesn’t get the joke sometimes. Hosoya-san can also be awkward at times and whenever he starts to get nervous he’d talk really fast and even forgets what he wants to say. But, he said he always tries his best. He’s also playful like whenever he meets with Miyano Mamoru (they have worked together in several animes) and I love his raspy laugh. He speaks his mind and that’s what makes him funny and a really chill dude. In Kurobas Cup 2013, his Tanabata wish was to be better at talk corners which is so adorable. A few roles that I personally love are Nezumi (No.6), Hyuuga Junpei (Kuroko no Basket series), Kunikida Doppo (Bungou Stray Dogs), Sekizan Takuya (All Out!!), Ohta (Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge) and Reiner Braun (Shingeki no Kyojin series). I also love it when he screams in any anime he’s in. He must feel really embarrassed screaming in a booth aww. For a small man, his voice is manly and that’s what I love about him.

That is my top 5 all time favourite anime seiyuus! I love doing top 5 lists and let me know if you want me to do more. Like I said, the ranking doesn’t mean anything; I love them all equally and fangirl about them on a daily basis. Hope you enjoyed my list and share yours if you have any!

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 All Time Favourite Seiyuu/Anime Voice Actors

  1. I have seen most of the Anime you have mentioned and heard most of the seiyuu here and like mostly all of them as far as their talents go, yet among male seiyuu I like Hiroshi Kamiya, the best.
    And kinda sad you haven’t even mentioned him as a honorary name on your list.
    Well I can’t blame you for not liking someone’s talent I like, but it’s not like you haven’t heard of him… that’s why I am asking you have right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

